If … by Amy Carmichael

One of the most powerful books I have ever read is the short classic titled “If” by Amy Carmichael.  She was involved in counter-acting human trafficking in India, by setting up an orphanage to rescue girls who were being used in temple prostitution.

If …

If I love to be loved more than to love, to be served more than to serve, then I know nothing of Calvary love.

If a sudden jar can cause me to speak an impatient unloving word, then I know
nothing of Calvary love.

If souls can suffer alongside, and I hardly know it, because the spirit of
discernment is not in me, then I know nothing of Calvary love.

If I belittle those whom I am called to serve, talk of their weak points in
contrast perhaps with what I think of as my strong points; if I adopt a
superior attitude, forgetting, “Who made thee to differ? And what hast thou
that thou has not received?” then I know nothing of Calvary love.

If I can easily discuss the shortcomings of any; if I can speak in a casual way of
a child’s misdoings, then I know nothing of Calvary love.

If I rebuke without a pang, then I know nothing of Calvary love.

If I cast up a confessed, repented and forsaken sin against another, and allow my
remembrance of that sin to colour my thinking and feed my suspicions, then I
know nothing of Calvary love.

If I can hurt another by speaking faithfully without much preparation of spirit,
and without hurting myself far more than I hurt the other, then I know nothing
of Calvary love.

If I forget that it was He who granted the ray of light to His most unworthy
servant, then I know nothing of Calvary love.

If I covet any place on earth but the dust at the foot of the Cross, then I know
nothing of Calvary love.

That which I know not, teach Thou me, O Lord, my God.

Read the whole book here, including more than 60 “Ifs”.

Wikipedia bio of AmyCarmichael

This entry was posted in Classical Spirituality, Quotes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

